Christ Church, OH
Up

Up
Dallas, TX
Dr Cheryl White
St Pauls NY
St Philips FL
Grace & Holy MO
St Peters NY
St Stephens TX
Christ Church ILL
Christ Church, OH
Christ Church, MI
Trinity Boston
St Marks TX

 

 

Chrish Church, Glendale, OH
Choral Director Bryan Mock
Web Link

Harewood House                  This magnificent 18th Century mansion planned by Robert Carr and decorated by Robert Adam is situated in landscaped grounds completed by Capability Brown in 1772 and set in rolling countryside.
Room after room reflects exquisite craftsmanship of the 18th
Century. Superb chimney pieces, ceilings, carpets, mirrors and furniture by Chippendale.  Harewood also has a notable collection of paintings by Tintoretto, Gainsborough, Reynolds, Sargent, Turner & a host of other Italian Masters.
Do make time to see the sweeping terrace designed by
Sir Charles Barry (architect of the Houses of Parliament) which overlooks the formal gardens.
Web Link

York                                           The fascinating townscape of this walled city illustrates much of its nearly 2,000 years history.  York possesses in its Minster the largest medieval church in Northern Europe, the general scale of its building is small and human.  Even today York seems more medieval than almost any other English town.  The compact core is a treasure house for anyone interested in history, architecture or ancient crafts, and is best seen on foot.  The Romans called the place Eboracum, and built a fort in AD.71.  Under the Angles, York was capital of their Kingdom of Deira.  King Edwin was baptised here by Paulinus, who became the first Archbishop of York in 634.  The Danes captured and burnt York in 867 and it was their capital in England for nearly 100 years, they called it Jorvik and it is from this that the present name derives.  There is nothing left to see of Anglo Saxon and Danish York, but the use of the word gate for street is a reminder that the Danes did settle here.  The Norman's found a thriving little trading centre and burnt it in 1069 during their frightful ravaging of the North, and then rebuilt the walls, expanding them to take the present 263 acres.  Medieval York is everywhere, not least in the web of narrow streets.  The Shambles and Stonegate are two of the best preserved examples.  Too the East of the Minster is the half timbered St William's College.  Three of the nine Guildhalls still survive.  All the city walls are medieval rebuilt on the Roman and Norman foundations in the 13th Century.  A 2.5 mile footpath on the walls gives a circular tour of the city.  In the middle ages, York was England's second city a great religious and commercial centre.  A lovely city with much to see and enjoy.
Web Link

Web Link to Historic York

York Minster                    The Minster is York's chief glory, appropriate to the dignity of an Archbishopric, built between 1220 and 1470, it contains England's greatest concentration of medieval stained glass, principally from the 13th and 14th Centuries.  The two most famous windows being the five sisters and the magnificent 15th Century east window, the largest in the world.  The Ministers length is 518ft and is 241ft wide at the transept.  The central tower rises 198ft and is the largest lantern tower in Britain.  The 14th Century Chapter House with seven lovely window walls has no central support for its conical roof, just the great buttresses on the eight sides.  The Choir was completed by 1400 and its great climax the east window with 2,000 sq ft of ancient glass by John Thornton of Coventry was finished in 1408, the massive towers came last.
Web Link

Fountain Abbey  (Declared a world heritage site)          The majestic ruins of possibly the Greatest Abbey in England, stand in this scenic valley of the River Skell.  Just a few miles South West of Ripon.  Even today so much of the building is still visible.  From very humble beginnings, a rise to power then total Dissolution under Henry VIII.  It was from St Mary`s Abbey York, that the prior and some followers left to establish a new Cistercian order here at Fountains in 1132.  They started to build and over the years the community grew in property, prosperity & recruits. Unfortunately this power and wealth replaced the original Cistercian ideals and was a great prize for Henry VIII during the Dissolution.  He sold it to Sir Richard Gresham in 1540.  One can clearly see from the ruins the picture of what life in a Monastic institution was like during the middle ages.  The tower stands a remarkable 168ft in height with the church extending some 360ft.  In 1738 William Aisdale who owned the adjoining Studley Royal Estate purchased Fountains and continued to mould the two together.  Landscaping and gardening as he went along.  Today the Cistercian Abbey ruins are the largest in Britain blending in naturally with a landscape of ornamental lakes, cascades, bridges, river walks and eye catching vistas.  A 500 head deer colony live in the deer park and at night the whole area of the ruins are floodlit.
Web Link

Durham            It is not only the lover of architecture who will be thrilled by Durham.  It is one of the most visually exciting cities in Britain.  The magnificent Norman Cathedral and the Castle stand proudly on a sandstone hill almost enclosed by a steep banked wooded bend of the River Wear.  It is a scene well worth looking at from every vantage point.  The best views are obtained from the railway station, Prebends Bridge, South Street, Silesgate and also Palace Green.  The Castle was built in 1069 by the Norman invaders and the town grew up under the Castle walls between the two river crossings at Elvet and Framwellgate.  Durham is not a large city but is a centre of local government and education (Durham University was created as the third university in England by an act of Parliament in 1832)
Web Link

Durham Cathedral                        The Cathedral was founded as a shrine for the body of St Cuthbert.  When Viking raids forced the monks on Lindisfarne to flee in 875.  They carried with them the body of the saint, they reached Durham in 995 after time at Chester le Street and Ripon.  In Durham the coffin seemed to become rooted to the ground and the spot for the new shrine was revealed in a vision.  By 998 they had built a church (nothing remains of this early building) it quickly became a place of pilgrimage.  The Bishops became Prince Bishops of Durham giving the city the right to raise armies, own nobility, coinage and courts.  All these privileges were ended in 1836.  The present Cathedral Church of Christ and blessed Mary the Virgin was built between 1093 and 1133 to a plan of Bishop William of Calais.  He died but the work continued under Bishop Flambard.  It is possibly the finest Norman building in Europe.  St Cuthberts body was brought to his shrine behind the high altar in 1104.  The Cathedral was the first in Northern Europe to be covered with stone ribbed vaulting and it has the earliest pointed transverse arches in England.  There are few monuments because of a long held rule that no one should be buried in the shrine of st cuthbert.  From the South side aisle a door leads to the monks dormitory, a great timbered hall 194ft by 39ft where some of the Cathedrals prized possessions can be seen, they include St Cuthberts illuminated manuscripts.  In front of the font is a line of marble, the nearest point that women were allowed to get to the altar.  Almost no amount of time is to long to spend in this unique place of worship. 
Web Link

Venerable Bede           Born probably in 673.  In 670 he was sent school in Monkwearmouth but stayed only two years before being sent to Jarrow in 672.  He loved knowledge and found the libraries of St Pauls fascinating.  He enjoyed astronomy, numbers, Latin and wrote the life of St Cuthbert.  He also wrote a famous history book.  The first of its kind about the English Church and People.  He also loved the Bible and was working on St Johns Gospel when he died on may 25th 735.  He was 62 years old.  He was buried in Jarrow.  During the 11th Century his bones were stolen and brought to Durham.  At the time they were put in the same coffin as St Cuthbert.  However in the 13th Century they were separated and brought to a new tomb in the Galilee Chapel also in Durham Cathedral.
Web Link

St. Pauls Church, Jarrow            The Parish Church of St Pauls Jarrow has been a place of worship for 13 Centuries.  The Church & Monastery was built on land given by King Ecgfrith of Northumbria in 681AD.  The Chancel of St Pauls is the original Saxon Church built as a separate Chapel and thus offers at least a relic of Bede`s time.  Much of the cut stone is Roman, do look for the three single splayed Saxon windows, the middle one containing Saxon stained glass made in the monastic workshops, it was excavated from the site in 1980 and inserted here in the Chancel.  Reputedly the oldest such glass in Western Europe.  The Monastery where Bede came as a boy thrived in the 7th & 8th Centuries.  Outside the church are the remains of the domestic buildings of that monastery, it was here that he lived, worked and worshipped.  The buildings where sacked by the Vikings in 794AD. It was not until 1074 that the church was repaired by the Normans and the Monastery re-founded by Aldwin, Prior of Winchcombe Abbey in Gloucestershire.  Do look for the original dedication stone of 685 (above the Chancel arch) supposedly the oldest in England.  Although St Martins Church Canterbury does predate Jarrow by maybe 100 years and therefore holds the honour of oldest church in England.
Web Link

St Oswalds Church     Durham            The recovery of two parts of a 9th Century Anglo-Saxon sculptured cross shaft from the 15th Century towers West wall and the discovery of two cross shafts and part of a cross head of the 10th or 11th Century found during the 19th Century suggests an ancient foundation, even a church on the site before the community of St Cuthbert settled on the Durham Peninsula in 995.  Surveys have since suggested evidence of a Pre Norman building underlying the current structure.  The earliest known rector, Dolfin was here in 1156.  The earliest visible portions of the current church are the four Eastern arcades of the Nave and the Chancel arch dating from 1195.  The church was enlarged in the 13th Century and in 1412 the West ends of the aisles were added.  The tower was added in the 15th Century and a Clerestory added to the Nave with a fine hammer beam roof.
In 1825 the church was declared dangerous and temporarily closed.  Proposalís to demolish the church were bought forward but due to the opposition of parishioners, drastic repairs and restoration work followed in 1834.  A Vestry was added North of the Chancel, the Clerestory renewed and the fine 15th Century Nave roof was replaced. Further work was undertaken in 1864 to rebuild the Chancel which had become unstable.  Stained glass by Ford Madox Brown of William Morris and Co was inserted in the West window.  A second Vestry was added in 1883
The organ of 1864 replaced in 1915 & 1979 was destroyed in a deliberate fire on Ash Wednesday 1984.  The fire not only destroyed the organ but caused much damage to the church and especially the Chancel.  All where restored and in 1988 a new organ was completed.  Planned by Nicholas Thislethwaite, designed by Henry Moss and built by Peter Collins it occupies a new West gallery.
The site has been the place of a christian foundation for 1100 years and continues to serve the needs of its parishioners
Web Link

Housesteads Fort  (Vercovicium)            Possibly the remains of the most complete Roman Fort in Britain. Superb position with commanding views all round, spectacular scenery.  See the foundations of the fort, granaries, barrack blocks, hospital, latrines. Excellent views of the wall as it joins the fort.
Web Link

Hadrians wall                 The most important monument built by the Romans in Britain.  It is a world heritage site and is by far the best known frontier in the entire Roman Empire.  Built by order of Emperor Hadrian on his visit to Britain in 122AD.  It took 6 years to build and is 73 miles in length, 15ft high and runs from Wallsend in the East to Bowness on Solway in the West.  It was built to separate the Romans from the Barbarians.  When the Romans left in about 400AD the wall became derelict and stones where used in buildings and walls all, over the area.
Web Link

Hexham abbey                Two contrasting church styles set in one building. The old church to the East comprising the magnificent Crossing and Chancel.  Together with Temple Moores Scholastic Nave started in 1905 to the West.  Hexham has suffered more than most from its prime location, not far from Hadrians Wall.  The 7th Century foundation by St Wilfred was burnt and plundered by the Vikings.  The restored Augustine Priory refounded in 1113 was then attacked by the Scots under William Wallace at the end of the 13th Century, the Nave was destroyed and not rebuilt.  Therefore it is to the East end one naturally is drawn, early Gothic architecture in a Parish Church.  It is in this area where the transept is dominated by the Priory`s famous night staircase.  Described by many as one of the finest Monastic relics in an English church.  A treasure trove of architectural gems.   Lest not forget the Crypt, beneath the Nave a Saxon Tunnel vaulted chamber built primarily of Roman Stones its arch reputedly dating from the 7th Century.  Many Celtic and Roman relics of their occupation adorn the fabric of this lovely Church
Web Link

Beamish museum        Step back in time at this wonderful open air museum. 30 years old this magnificent museum spread over more than 300 acres is dedicated to life as it was in the North East of England in 1825 & 1913. From the Manor house to the Wagonway, the town, the garage, the station, sweetshop, pit cottages, school & chapel, the colliery, transport, the farm, all aspects of our ancestors living conditions are bought back to life in reconstructions using original & actual memorabilia.
Web Link

Alnwick     Still looks like a stronghold of the Earls and Dukes of Northumberland.  You may enter from the South through the narrow medieval arch of Hotspur Tower and within moments confront the great barbican guarding the gateway to Alnwick Castle.  Within the town, age speaks for itself from the narrow streets, cobblestones, passageways, sturdy grey buildings and monuments.  The town grew up on the River Aln beside the great border castle whose walls enclose 7 acres.  Below and around the castle are grounds landscaped by Capability Brown in 1765 which now form a beautiful park.  In the town a broad main street with slopping tree shaded cobblestone parking space alongside, passes near a market square.  A free standing 18th Century hall has an arcade for shops on the ground floor and assembly rooms above.  A very interesting town steeped in history and the ravages of this wild border country.
The town name
pronounced Annick, situated on the River Aln from which it gets its name, which in turn derives from the Celtic word Alaun meaning holy or mighty.  Wick means a farm, outlying from a main settlement.  The earliest known record or the River Aln is in the Venerable Bedes, ecclesiastical history of the English people written in Latin and dated 731, it appears as Fluuium Alne.
Web Link

Alnwick Castle     The main seat of the Duke of Northumberland. this great border castle whose walls enclose 7 acres of park has survived many battles during its chequered history.  Below and around the castle are grounds landscaped by Capability Brown in 1765 which now form a beautiful park.  The castle was begun by the Vesci family in the early 12th Century.  When the last legitimate member of the family line died in 1297 the castle was held in trust by the then Bishop of Durham who subsequently sold it on to Henry Percy in 1309.   The family Percy eventually became Dukes of Northumberland and have lived here ever since.  Outwardly the castle has altered little since the 14th Century.  However it was severely damaged during the border wars and stood as a ruin for nearly 200 years before the 1st Duke restored it in the 18th Century.  Some of the state rooms in the castle are open to the public displaying superb paintings by Titian, Tintoretto, Canaletto & Van Dyck.  Augmented by collections of Meissen pottery and superb furniture the fine library is the largest room in the castle and the main staircase exquisite.
Web Link

Alnwick Castle Gardens    The rose garden with over 2,000 roses, the grand cascade linking over 120 water jets into a display utilising 7,000 gallons of water per minute. Ornamental Garden, woodland walk and much more as this garden opened only very recently begins to grow.
Web Link

Holy Island (Lindisfarne)            Lindisfarne is famed as the birthplace of English Christianity.  A 3 mile causeway connects the island with the mainland at low tide and can be crossed during six hour spells between tides. approx 300 people live on the island, with fishing and tourism the main employment.  In 635 A.D. St Aidan came on the invitation of King Oswald from Iona on the West Coast of Scotland to teach Christianity to the Angles of Northumbria.  Linidsfarne Monastry was established and the first English diocese founded.  The Sixth Bishop was St Cuthbert who came to the island in 664A.D. and was buried here until the monks fled with his coffin ahead of the Danes in 875A.D.  The Danes destroyed the Abbey and the island lay deserted until a Priory was founded by a Benedictine order in the 11th Century. 
Web Link