American War Cemetery
Commemorating the brave
American servicemen who gave their lives during the Second World War to help
keep this island and the rest of the world free. 8,312 are buried here
together with a memorial to the 5,126 missing in action. Never let us
forget their help and ultimate sacrifice in helping to keep our island home free
from those across the water who wish to subjugate us into their world which we
are not part. Their sacrifice must be a lesson to us all to never drop our
guard, no matter how sweet the music sounds.
Aylsham & Wroxham
a small very attractive
Norfolk market town situated alongside the River Bure. The unspoilt
medieval market place is surrounded by 17th & 18th Century
buildings, notably the Black Boy Inn, The Knoll and The Manor House all circa
17th Century. The church of St Michael`s (decorated and
perpendicular) dates back to the 14/15th Century with a two story
porch built in 1488. The church is said to have connections with John of
Gaunt whose arms are clearly seen on the shaft of the 15th century
The largest & grandest
house of the first Elizabethan age. built between 1565 & 1587 by William Cecil.
The house is still a family home yet full of superb paintings and antiques, a
treasure to feast upon. The art collection is one of the most impressive
17th Century Italian painting collections in the world, with over 300 great
works on display in the state rooms, which also includes work by Gainsborough,
Kneller and Lawrence. The tour will allow access to over 18 state rooms
filled with superb porcelain from all over Europe and a collection of early
Japanese ceramics, together with furniture of the highest quality including a
bed once used by Queen Victoria. Try and find time to wander in the
grounds, acres of park land, originally landscaped by Capability Brown.
Mature trees and plenty of space for the youngsters to let off some steam.
Bury St. Edmonds
A Cathedral town and
county town of West Suffolk. commemorates two outstanding episodes in its
history. Edmund last king of East Anglia was killed in 869 by the Danes,
the English at that time held that his death was a martydom and for many years
he was Patron Saint of England. His remains were taken to Beadriceswyrth
which from the 11th Century was called St Edmunsbury. In 1020 Cnut having
become King of England and hoping to resolve discord between the English and
Danish communities gave the place where Edmund was buried the status of Abbey.
The second great episode to effect the community took place in 1215 on November
20th, when the Barons took an oath at the alter of St Edmund to get ratification
of the Magna Carta from the then King John. Bury is certainly a town to
walk in with interesting churches, old buildings, a 13th Century Guildhall etc.
The Cathedral Church since 1914 has been St James, a 16th Century building with
some 19th Century additions. What remains of the great Abbey church which
at one time was 500ft long with a West front nearly 250ft wide is all but hidden
away and just small fragments are visible at various places like the Norman Gate
and Abbey Gate.
Edmunds means The
Olde English Bury is Burg meaning fort or town. St Edmund refers to the
Saint. Originally Beadriceswyrth meaning Beaduric`s Enclosure. Which
referred to a small monastic community established to safeguard the Saints
remains. In 1083 this was thus recorded as Sancte Eadmundes Byrig.
Which over time became turned round to become Bury St Edmunds.
Cambridge is one of the
most important and beautiful towns not only in East Anglia, but also in Britain
and even Europe. The quality of its buildings in particular those
belonging to the University and the particular atmosphere caused by the
felicitous combination of river and gardens have given the city a place in the
itinerary of every visitor to this country. The history of Cambridge began
many hundreds of years before the first college was founded, a Celtic settlement
had arise on Castle Hill 100 years prior to the Roman conquest. At the
foot of the hill was a ford across the River Cam. It is thought the Romans
built a bridge here. The site of Cambridge became of great strategic and
commercial importance. With the departure of the Romans the town continued
to spread to its present position on the East Anglian side of the river.
The coming of the Normans only increased expansion they even rebuilt the Castle.
Then in the 13th Century saw the founding of the first Cambridge College,
Peterhouse College, established in 1281 by the Bishop of Ely and moving to its
own hostels in 1284. So was established the first College and the
consequent increase in the importance of the city as a seat of learning and a
centre of communal life.
Chelmsford The county town of Essex. has been an important thoroughfare town since Roman times due its excellent logistical placing on the Rivers Chelmer & Can together with a strategic site on the main road from London to other major towns in East Anglia. The existing town is built on the site of a very early Roman settlement called ”Caesaromagus” `Ceasar`s market. An important market town it as now grown in size to a thriving commercial centre. Chelmsford- appears in the doomsday book as “Celmeresfort” which means “ceolmaers ford” most likely referring to a ford over the nearby Chelmer river.
Europe’s top aviation
museum located at a former R.A.F. Battle of Britain fighter station. Over
140 historic aircraft from the First World War up to the present day including
the recently opened American museum.
The Town stands above
the River Ouse on a bluff which was formerly an island, accessible only by boat
or causeway until the fens were drained in the 17th and 18th Century. It
was the scene of Hereward`s resistance to William the Conqueror. A quiet
oasis away from the hustle and bustle of modern city life around the precints of
the cathedral are the houses of the Kings School founded by Henry VIII.
Nearby is the Bishops Palace and St Mary`s church, in the vicarage of which
lived Oliver Cromwell and his family from 1636-1647.
The only Bronze age
timbers visible any where in Europe. See and feel timbers recently exposed
after 3,000 years. A reconstructed prehistoric village. A
roman road discovered where it was built, still with its original surface.
The oldest wheel in England. Visit the on going excavations and see the
archaeologists working on the dig. The museum showing the finds,
jewellery, weapons etc.
Yarmouth owes much to
its unique position, where three rivers, the Bure, Waveney & Yare converge on
their way into the north sea. In Anglo Saxon times it was actually an
island, a large sandbank dotted with fisherman's cottages. Over the years
the land has gradually built up to form a promontory.
A very attractive small
market town built around the narrow main street which stretches snake like for
over one and a half miles. Definitely Roman connections, many Roman coins
have been found here. The Anglo Saxons created it as Burgh and the Danes
invaded the town in 921. During the 13th Century the town had 16 churches
but was devastated by the black death in 1348. Very much an agricultural
based economy as one would expect in such a beautiful area. Oliver
Cromwell was born in the town and attended the same school as Samuel Pepys (now
a museum), the building was originally the hospital of St John the Baptist
founded approx 1160, considerable parts of the old structure still remain.
Two very interesting Inns “The George” (17th Century) with a fine open courtyard
and “The Falcon” with oriel windows and a massive door, which is believed
to have been the headquarters of Cromwell during the Civil War. At the far
end of town a 14th Century bridge separates the town from Godmanchester, said by
many to be one the finest surviving Medieval bridges in the country. The
town comprises of many 16th/17th Century buildings well worth an evenings
Ickworth House Now in the hands of the National Trust. Ickworth has had a chequered life since its design in 1795 by the Eccentric 4th Earl of Bristol. Today visitors can see fine furniture, a superb painting collection and possibly the finest collection of Georgian silver anywhere in Britain. The architecture is different and the rotunda is without doubt a special feature of the design. Deer are kept in the lovely grounds that surround the house.
This beautiful small
village developed through the rise of the cloth trade before and after the 15th
Century. The domestic architecture of Lavenham includes the Guildhall,
erected shortly after the founding of the Guild of Corpus Christi in 1529.
A superb timber framed building, one of its corner posts carries a full length
figure of the founder of the Guild the 15th Lord De Vere, the old wool hall,
Tudor shops, the De Vere House, the hotel (originally 3 cottages) and several of
the houses in church street, the pargeting on the facades and the timbering,
make the whole atmosphere of Lavenham unique. The church of St Peter and
Paul dates back several hundred years. The wood carving inside the church
probably by Flemish craftsmen dates back to the 16th Century and the misericords
decorated with fantastic medieval imagery are probably some of the best examples
in Britain. The bells of the church are also famous, one of them, the
tenor bell made in 1625 by Miles Graye of Colchester is reputed to be the finest
toned tenor bell in England if not the world.
Norfolk lavender farm
Caley Mill the headquarters of Norfolk Lavender. Originally a water
mill for grinding corn. Built of local stone in the early Ninteenth Century it
is now surrounded by gardens of lavender, roses & herbs. The national collection
of lavenders is also kept here. Each variety has its own bed with over 50
different lavenders to see. Harvesting takes place during July & August
and it is at this time visitors are taken round the distillery where they can
see the ancient process of extracting the drops of lavender oil contained in
each small floret.
A beautiful city and
the Capital of Norfolk. The site of the city so important as it developed
within a large double bend in the River Wensum. After the Norman conquest
both the castle and the cathedral were built, two focal points that remain until
this day. The great stone keep of the castle dates back to 1160 and except
for the Tower of London must rate as one of the best surviving examples of
Norman military architecture in the country. 90 feet square and over 70
feet in height. The city centre is dotted with important historic
buildings, the Guildhall built between 1407-1413, the Assembly House in Theatre
Street 1754, Bridewell Museum 1370, Strangers Hall is Mid 15th Century, plus
approximately 30 surviving churches all Medieval and many of exceptional
interest. In Medieval times Norwich also had one of the largest Jewish
communities in England. Wealthy merchants and money lenders living in the
city built superb houses some of which exist to this day, one example being the
old music house in King Street which is 12th Century.
place name means Northern specialised place with the Olde English wic
meaning town or port. the town was recorded as Northwic during the early part of
the 10th Century. In the Doomsday book it is recorded as Noruic.
A prosperous city and
an important market town. In its centre is the market place where the
Guildhall, built in 1671, dominates. Nearby is St John the Baptist’s
Church built in 1402. The best Georgian houses are in Priestgate on the
corner of which is the three storied Angel Hotel. The Town Hall in Bridge
Street was built in the 1930s in a mock Georgian style.
Sandringham House is
the family residence of the Royal Family. The estate was purchased by the
then Prince of Wales in 1862. The 18th Century house was
elaborately refurbished by the Prince who later became Edward VII. It now
retains an appropiate Edwardian atmosphere. The estates are extensive and
include several villages, farms and woodlands which are managed on behalf of the
family. By tradition it is to this very quiet place that the family comes
each Christmas. King George V died here in 1936 and King George VI (Queen
Elizabeth's father) died here in 1952. It is also recorded that King George
VI was born and baptised here.
St Wendreda`s Church March Built around the mid 1300s. Quite an history surrounds the Saint. Her father was King Anna a 7th Century ruler in Saxon East England. She had a love of solitude. When she died her body was laid to rest at March where she had spent her final years. Then the body was moved to Ely. In 1016 the body was dug up again and carried by the Saxon soldiers in their battle against the Danes. The Saxons were defeated and the body came into the hands of the Danish King Canute. He was supposedly so moved by her life of piety that he presented the body to Canterbury, where she stayed for the next 300 years. In 1343 she came back to March where she was buried in the newly refurbished church. This church no longer remains. Although the tower was built in the second half of the 14th Century. The church is renown for its superb, quite breathtaking double hammer beam angel roof. Experts say the finest in the country possibly in Europe. There are 118 angels in all, some half life size. All carved from English Oak. Nothing so glorious was ever created again in a parish church, possibly due to the reformation or more likely because a double hammer beam roof is not thought to be that robust of structures. In fact the carpenters that built this roof probably already new that. You can see the iron rods wisely added to the structure to help brace against the outward pressures that must eventually push against it. For five Centuries it has stood the elements, pressures and everything mankind can think up. Carpenters of the 15/16th Centuries, well done.
The National Stud, Newmarket
Over 500 acres of grounds
transformed into one of the most prestigious studs in the country and opened by
the Queen in 1967. The stud has a stallion unit, nursery yards and special
paddocks for the mares and foals, so they may stay together for the first few
months after birth.
original Anglo-Saxon village was discovered and excavated on this site just a
few years ago. Rather than just leave the excavations fill in the holes
etc. it was decided to reconstruct a village literally on the foundations of the
original buildings. This unique experiment was carried out using the same
materials, replica implements and construction methods first used over 1200
years ago. A visit to the village provides the opportunity to study
aspects of early Anglo-Saxon village life, step back in time to a way of living
1200 years ago into the reconstruction of one family unit, a hall, houses and
workshops including a farm project with livestock and crops.