Grace and Holy Trinity Cathedral, Kansas, MO
A town where there is
no need to go looking for interests in dark corners, it is all around. The
city dates back to the 13th Century when it was decided to move the Bishops seat
from Old Sarum. The Cathedral foundations were begun in 1220 and the city
started to grow. Salisbury was built on a grid or chequer system which
left space between the blocks. Cathedral Close is the most beautiful in
all England and the list of buildings with interest is unending. It is
interesting to note that the main wall around the Cathedral Close was granted by
license from Edward III.
The first sight of the
Cathedral is most impressive an early example of English architecture. Its
spire soaring to a height of 404ft the highest in England which imposes almost
6,000 tons of stone on the four pillars of the crossing. The Nave measures
198ft with a clear uncluttered beauty, little having changed since it was built.
With Foundations no more than 4 feet deep on a bed of gravel, the main building was
begun in 1220 and completed in 1258. The Cloisters and Chapter house being
finished in 1280. It was never a Monastic institution but staffed with
Secular Clergy called Canons. This arrangements continues today.
Canons would be away in their parishes for most of the year, just coming back to
the Cathedral for short periods of time. The present houses round the
close are built on the sites of the former Canons' Houses.
Founded by the Romans
in 50A.D. who surrounded the town with a great red stone wall, some parts which
can still be seen today. Under the Anglo Saxons it became a very important
place and was twice ravaged by the Danes once in 876 when they occupied the town
for three years and again in 1003. Following on after the Norman invasion the
town held out till 1068 before finally accepting defeat after an 18 day siege by
William the Conqueror. The town was an important cloth manufacturing area
and because of its strategic position close to the coast trading centre right up
to the late 18th Century. Two attractive areas in the city are
the Cathedral Close and the area of the quay. Some Medieval pubs still
remain, The Ship, White Hart, Turks Head together with some fine timbered
buildings. Much however was lost in the German bombing of 1942 which
flattened a great deal of the city.
recorded that a church with a religious community probably existed here from as
early as the 7th Century and St Boniface an apostle from Germany was
educated here. It became the seat of the Bishop in 1050 when Leofric made
the Minster his Cathedral. Leofric founded a community of 24 Canons whose
successors have run the Cathedral ever since. The original Cathedral was
built in the Norman style and consecrated on the 21st November 1133.
It is believed the Cathedral had boy singers by 1180 and the office of Dean
founded in 1225. During the period 1258-80 a new rebuilding scheme was
started which built on the existing Norman foundations and by the 14th
Century only the Norman
towers remained of the original building. Little disturbance was made
until the exterior was extensively restored in the 19th Century and
changes made inside during the period 1870-1877. The building did
take a direct hit during the bombing of 1942 and much damage was done. The
Quire screen is original dating back to 1320 and the Quire has furnishings
(Bishops throne nearly 60ft high dating back to the period of Bishop Stapledon
(1308-1326) Music plays a very important part in Cathedral life and the
Choristers are educated in the school which dates back to the Cathedrals very
The spectacular hillside
garden is beautiful throughout the year with spring flowering bulbs and shrubs,
colourful herbaceous borders and fine trees. The garden is surrounded by
parkland and woods which offer lovely walks. The house is furnished as a
comfortable family home and includes a music room. Upstairs the Pauline de
Bush collection of costumes from the 18th Century to the present day is
displayed in a series of period rooms.
Capital city of Cornwall,
the commercial hub of the area. During the Middle ages it was an important
port for the export of iron ore, it is now a market town and an administrative
centre for the county. Stood for the King during the Civil War but really
history has passed it by.
Truro Cathedral Although
by our standards a modern Cathedral dedicated in 1910. No one can fail to
be impressed when approaching the city, a soaring spire 250ft catching the eye
and dominating the centre of the city. It was the first Anglican Cathedral
to be built on a new site in this country since Salisbury in the 13th
Century. The County of Cornwall had been an Archdeaconry of Exeter until
the decision taken on the 15th December 1876 which declared the
See founded at Truro. The first bishop was Edward Benson Enthoned in
1877. Not in a Cathedral but in the small parish church of St Mary the
Virgin. The foundation stone of the new Cathedral was laid on the 20th
May 1880 by the then Prince of Wales later to become King Edward VII. The
building was completed and dedicated in 1910.
25 acres of garden set in
parkland overlooking the Fal River, Carrick Roads and the harbour. The
property offers a port of call of exceptional beauty for general and specialist
visitors in a county already remarkable for its breathtaking coastal landscapes.
of the most celebrated names in British maritime history, there are now over 40
communities spread round the English speaking world with the name Plymouth.
Its potential as a major deep sea port was not really recognised until the turn
of the 13th Century. It became the base of the English Navy
during the Elizabethan era. The time of Drake, Raleigh, Hawkins & Gilbert
when it was used extensively to guard the Western approaches from the Spanish
fleets. It was from here on the Hoe on Friday July 19th 1588 that Drake, while playing bowls, was told of the
approach of the Spanish Armada. Ignoring advice he continued with his game
until completed. Then he boarded his vessel the Golden Hind and set off
after the Spanish.
The Manor of Powderham was mentioned in the Doomsday book. It came into the
Courtenay family by way of the dowry of Margaret de Bohun on her marriage to
Hugh de Courtenay son of the first Courtenay Earl of Devon. Margaret bore her
Lord nine daughters & eight sons and from this marriage descends all the
subsequent Courtenays Earls of Devon. She left the Castle to her Sixth son
Philip and it was he who began building the castle as we see it today in 1319.
A beautiful city and
the Capital of Norfolk. The site of the city so important as it developed
within a large double bend in the River Wensum. After the Norman conquest
both the castle and the cathedral were built, two focal points that remain until
this day. The great stone keep of the castle dates back to 1160 and except
for the Tower of London must rate as one of the best surviving examples of
Norman military architecture in the country. 90 feet square and over 70
feet in height. The city centre is dotted with important historic
buildings, the Guildhall built between 1407-1413, the Assembly House in Theatre
Street 1754, Bridewell Museum 1370, Strangers Hall is Mid 15th Century, plus
approximately 30 surviving churches all Medieval and many of exceptional
interest. In Medieval times Norwich also had one of the largest Jewish
communities in England. Wealthy merchants and money lenders living in the
city built superb houses some of which exist to this day, one example being the
old music house in King Street which is 12th Century.
place name means Northern specialised place with the Olde English wic
meaning town or port. the town was recorded as Northwic during the early part of
the 10th Century. In the Doomsday book it is recorded as Noruic.
A fine Norman Cathedral
built under the direction of Bishop De Josinga in 1096. When he died in
1119 he was buried in the chancel and the work continued until the finished
building was consecrated in 1278. The Norman plan, which incidentally is
the only one to survive in this country, featured a Bishops Throne at the East
end, in an apse behind the altar. It is suggested the throne is approx
1000 years old which if confirmed would make it the oldest Bishops Throne in any
English Cathedral. The nave has a superb roof with close on 800 roof
bosses. Outside the building there are an array of Norman flying
buttresses which were needed to support this huge burden. The spire is the
second highest in England at 315 feet (Salisbury is the highest) was added in
the late 15th Century by Goldwell.
Cambridge is one of the
most important and beautiful towns not only in East Anglia, but also in Britain
and even Europe. The quality of its buildings in particular those
belonging to the University and the particular atmosphere caused by the
felicitous combination of river and gardens have given the city a place in the
itinerary of every visitor to this country. The history of Cambridge began
many hundreds of years before the first college was founded, a Celtic settlement
had arise on Castle Hill 100 years prior to the Roman conquest. At the
foot of the hill was a ford across the River Cam. It is thought the Romans
built a bridge here. The site of Cambridge became of great strategic and
commercial importance. With the departure of the Romans the town continued
to spread to its present position on the East Anglian side of the river.
The coming of the Normans only increased expansion they even rebuilt the Castle.
Then in the 13th Century saw the founding of the first Cambridge College,
Peterhouse College, established in 1281 by the Bishop of Ely and moving to its
own hostels in 1284. So was established the first College and the
consequent increase in the importance of the city as a seat of learning and a
centre of communal life.
Kings College, Cambridge
One of the most
outstanding buildings in Britain and the finest Gothic building in Europe.
It was begun in 1446. its unusual dimensions, 300ft long, 80ft high and 40ft
wide, prepare the visitor for its extraordinary system of spatial relationships.
The effect of the interior is breathtaking. the shafts on either side of the
chapel lead the eye up into the roof where the profusion of delicate fan
vaulting appears to be made of lace rather than stone. The organ case
(1606), screen and choir stalls (1536) stained glass windows (1515 incidentally
the year the chapel was completed) act as a perfect foil to the magnificent
roof. Does this give meaning to look upwards to heaven for the splendours
that are above.
Sandringham House is
the family residence of the Royal Family. The estate was purchased by the
then Prince of Wales in 1862. The 18th Century house was
elaborately refurbished by the Prince who later became Edward VII. It now
retains an appropiate Edwardian atmosphere. The estates are extensive and
include several villages, farms and woodlands which are managed on behalf of the
family. By tradition it is to this very quiet place that the family comes
each Christmas. King George V died here in 1936 and King George VI (Queen
Elizabeth's father) died here in 1952. It is also recorded that King George
VI was born and baptised here.