Grace and Holy Trinity Cathedral, Kansas, MO
Once one of the most
important ports in the country, the earliest records of its commercial activity
going back to Edward II in the 10th Century when silver coins were minted here.
All this due to the fact that the River Severn and Avon was navigable to this
point. It was from
Bristol in 1497 that John Cabot and his Bristol born son Sebastian set sail with
18 sailors in the 100 ton ship “Matthew” before reaching the mainland of America
A centre for trade and commerce for over 1,000 years, the city still has much to
offer and although the large container ships now dock at the entrance to the
Avon Gorge at Avonmouth, much activity still remains around the old dock side
Augustinian Abbey founded in 1142 by Robert Fitzharding. In 1542 it became
the Cathedral Church of the newly formed Diocese of Bristol. It still
retains much of its Norman solidarity, particularly the fine Chapter House.
The Church building is known as a “Hall Church” type where high Chancel, aisles
and an Eastern Lady Chapel are of equal height. The Choir is full of
absolutely fine woodwork dating back to the 1500s and the Misericords of great
interest depicting as they do Biblical scenes. The organ was built in 1685
by Renatus Harris and all the pipework is original. Grinling Gibbons
created the superb organ case. Choristers are educated at the adjoining
Cathedral school. One important feature in the Berkeley Chapel: a Medieval
candelabrum (understood to be the only one of its kind in England recorded) has
being given to the Temple Church in Bristol
during 1450 and passed on to its present home during the terrible blitz of World
St Mary Redcliffe
Founded by the Romans
in 50A.D. who surrounded the town with a great red stone wall, some parts which
can still be seen today. Under the Anglo Saxons it became a very important
place and was twice ravaged by the Danes once in 876 when they occupied the town
for three years and again in 1003. Following on after the Norman invasion the
town held out till 1068 before finally accepting defeat after an 18 day siege by
William the Conqueror. The town was an important cloth manufacturing area
and because of its strategic position close to the coast trading centre right up
to the late 18th Century. Two attractive areas in the city are
the Cathedral Close and the area of the quay. Some Medieval pubs still
remain, The Ship, White Hart, Turks Head together with some fine timbered
buildings. Much however was lost in the German bombing of 1942 which
flattened a great deal of the city.
recorded that a church with a religious community probably existed here from as
early as the 7th Century and St Boniface an apostle from Germany was
educated here. It became the seat of the Bishop in 1050 when Leofric made
the Minster his Cathedral. Leofric founded a community of 24 Canons whose
successors have run the Cathedral ever since. The original Cathedral was
built in the Norman style and consecrated on the 21st November 1133.
It is believed the Cathedral had boy singers by 1180 and the office of Dean
founded in 1225. During the period 1258-80 a new rebuilding scheme was
started which built on the existing Norman foundations and by the 14th
Century only the Norman
towers remained of the original building. Little disturbance was made
until the exterior was extensively restored in the 19th Century and
changes made inside during the period 1870-1877. The building did
take a direct hit during the bombing of 1942 and much damage was done. The
Quire screen is original dating back to 1320 and the Quire has furnishings
(Bishops throne nearly 60ft high dating back to the period of Bishop Stapledon
(1308-1326) Music plays a very important part in Cathedral life and the
Choristers are educated in the school which dates back to the Cathedrals very
Very much a Cathedral city
and dominated by it, the existing building was started in 1180 continued in
stages until 1424. Many of the buildings in the Cathedral precincts are
used today for much the same purposes as that for which they were originally
built. The Vicars Close consists of a cobbled street with a total of 42
small houses built in the 14th Century for the Vicars of the Cathedral.
The Cathedral school was started in 909 and while closing for one short period
of 6 years in 1861 now records over 600 pupils. On the West front there
are 294 sculptures left of the original 386 some damaged beyond recognition, 3
new ones were unveiled by the Prince of Wales in 1985. The Chapter House
reached by an ancient stone stairway is octagonal in shape and part of a two
storey building, could be one of the most beautiful Chapter Houses in Britain.
The Cathedrals South doors lead to beautiful 15/16th Century cloisters
Worcester a city with a
river, cathedral, famous pottery and history around every corner. Situated
in the centre of the county and built on the banks of the River Severn.
The area has known many marauding armies using the town as a base and river
crossing. Romans, Anglo Saxons, Danes and the Welsh have all contributed
to its colourful history. The Civil War inflicted terrible damage, it was
the first city to declare for the King and the last to surrender in 1646.
It also saw in 1651 the final battle for Cromwell when Charles I was completely
defeated. The Cathedral was started in 1084 and is a beautiful place of
worship. Many interesting houses are situated in the city some dating back
over 500 years, however today the cities main claim to fame must surely be the
home of the Royal Worcester Porcelain works situated near the Cathedral right in
the centre of the city.
received it first
in 680. It
is thought the first
stood very close the present one.
do understand that
built a new
in 962 and it is thought that some of the existing stonework is incorporated in
the present building.
started the building of a new
on the present site.
crypt and chapter house remain substantially as the
builders left them.
visited many times and asked that on his death he be buried in the
which was agreed.
was consecrated in 1218 but further enlargement followed ending in about 1375.
960 to 1540 the
was a Monastery
under the rule of the
order. One interesting point the whole length of the
seems to be built in one piece when in fact the two
side built in 1345 is far better finished than the
side which due to the intervention of the
was built some 40 years later.
The castle was built in
1085 by either the Earl of Shrewsbury Robert
Montgomery or Roger De Lacy. Built to ward off those marauding Welsh
natives. The massive structure stands today much as it did when it was
built and seen by Edward IV, Catherine of Aragon and Henry VIII's brother Prince
Arthur who died here.
The massive structure
stands today much as it did when it was built and seen by Edward IV, Catherine
of Aragon and Henry VIII's brother Prince Arthur who died here. The parish
Church of St Laurence is one of the largest parish Churches in England.
Largely 15th Century. Interesting Misericords in the church choir. The
East window in the Chancel is 30ft high by 18ft wide and depicts the life,
history and miracles of the patron Saint in 27 separate scenes containing approx
300 figures. The finest thoroughfare in Ludlow is broad street where every
building dates back to the 14/15th Centuries. Tucked into a yard off Church Street is the Rose and
Crown first licensed in the 16th century. The Feathers Hotel in the bull
ring is a lovely 17th Century half timbered building. it is believed the
entrance door is more than 300 years old. Few towns in England have as
much to show for their history as Ludlow. Enjoy it in the time you have.
Large impressive Cistercian
Abbey in beautiful riverside location in the Wye valley. It has been the
subject of a poem by Wordsworth and a painting by Turner. The order was
founded in 1131 by Walter de Clare. Little is left of the original
building, it was built here deliberately, in keeping with the strictness and
austerity of the order. The abbey was completely rebuilt in the 13th
Century and in 1326 Edward II stayed here for 2 nights. The Abbey
continued to be active and generally undisturbed until the dissolution in 1536.
From then on the Abbey became neglected and fell into disrepair. Greatly
regarded by the romantic movement in the late 18th Century for its peace and
The capital city of
Wales boasts a castle with 1,900 years of history first built by the Romans,
some of the 10ft thick walls still remain. The Normans came and built
their castle which has been in continuous occupation ever since. Some of
the area surrounding the castle is now occupied by a superb modern shopping
centre. Hundreds of acres of parkland situated right in the city centre,
museums, the civic centre, University of Wales. St Davids Hall, a 2,000 seat
concert and conference centre. To take the city into the millennium the
new Cardiff Bay project, a redevelopment of the old Cardiff docks area.
Haw Bridge Inn
Built in 1630 as a stop over place for boats, where the old toll bridge crossed
the river Severn. Many a boatman has taken a sip of ale and a Ploughman’s
lunch within these walls, while watching the boats plying their trade on this
once busy stretch of river. Today, just pleasure craft glide slowly by.
But the Inn still retains the ambiance of a bygone age nestling as it does on
the banks of the river. Flagstone floors, oak panelling & oak beamed
ceilings. Collections of horse brasses and Toby jugs adorn both walls and
ceilings. Home cooked food, enjoy this little piece of real England.