St Johns Episcopal Church, Lynchburg, VA
Dominated both in
spirit and in fact, by its magnificent castle, yet the town itself is very
attractive with Georgian and Victorian buildings, Church Street being one of its
prettiest areas. The parish Church of St John stands in the High Street
with railings designed by Grindling Gibbons. Nearby is the Guildhall
designed at the end of the 17th Century by Sir Thomas Fitch and finished by Sir
Christopher Wren. However it is the castle that made the town and still
attracts thousands and thousands of visitors every year.
The castle is the
largest inhabited castle in the world and covers over 13 acres. Its story
starts with William the Conqueror who quickly grasped its strategic position and
the advantage of a forest for hunting close by. Since then practically
every sovereign has had a hand in the building, Henry II put up the first stone
buildings including the round tower, but the defences are still those built by
Henry III. Edward III was born at Windsor and loved it, he enlarged the royal
apartments and founded the order of the Knights of the Garter, making Windsor a
centre for chivalry. The castle is made up of three parts, the lower ward,
which includes St George's chapel, the upper ward in which lie the state
apartments and the middle ward where the enormous round tower gives wonderful
views over 12 counties.
St. Georges Chapel, Windsor
A sumptuous and impressive
building which yet gives an effect of light and spaciousness. The
perpendicular chapel was begun by Edward IV in 1475 and completed in the reigns
of Henry VII and VIII. Many sovereigns and famous men and women lie buried
here, including Charles I, Henry VIII, Jane Seymour and the present Queens
Mother and father. Queen Victoria and her husband Prince Albert were also
buried at Windsor but in the royal mausoleum at Frogmore in Home Park near the
Very much a Cathedral city
and dominated by it, the existing building was started in 1180 continued in
stages until 1424. Many of the buildings in the Cathedral precincts are
used today for much the same purposes as that for which they were originally
built. The Vicars Close consists of a cobbled street with a total of 42
small houses built in the 14th Century for the Vicars of the Cathedral.
The Cathedral school was started in 909 and while closing for one short period
of 6 years in 1861 now records over 600 pupils. On the West front there
are 294 sculptures left of the original 386 some damaged beyond recognition, 3
new ones were unveiled by the Prince of Wales in 1985. The Chapter House
reached by an ancient stone stairway is octagonal in shape and part of a two
storey building, could be one of the most beautiful Chapter Houses in Britain.
The Cathedrals South doors lead to beautiful 15/16th Century cloisters
The Romans built a city
here and called it Aquae Sulis. It grew up around the Baths establishment,
one of the foremost of its kind in the Western empire. Its remains form an
impressive monument to Roman Britain. In the 18th Century Bath became a
fashionable resort for society presided over by Beau Nash. It was at this
time that the work of providing a suitable environment began. From the
early 1700s - to the early 1800s many beautiful buildings, streets, squares and
crescents were completed. The pump room in 1795 and the only bridge left
in England built with shops, Pulteney Bridge completed in 1777 by William
Pulteney. The city abounds with acres of parks and gardens which sets off
the formality of the Georgian architecture.
name means bath, it
is not Roman but a pure English word. The Romans did originally call the
area Aquae Calidae (hot waters) then Aquae Sulis (waters of sulis, referring to
their pagan god) the Anglo-Saxon name was Akemanchester, which is generally
regarded as being derived from the latin Aquae (ake) and the Roman road of
Akeman Street which ran via Bath. Also the old English word Ceaster
meaning Roman Fort.
Abbey first stood on this site followed by a Norman one. It was not until
1499 that a Gothic Church was erected. Progress was very slow and by the
dissolution only the choir and the walls had been completed. However the
west front had certainly been given its famous turrets and ladders. After
the dissolution the Abbey was looted and the church was given to the parish.
The building was soon enclosed by houses and the North aisle became a walk
through for towns people. In 1864 a new rector Charles Kemble at his own
expense began a reconstruction of the building. Hence what we see today is
a Victorian replica of the original Tudor designs.
It is believed by many
people that under the waters of a spring on the slopes of its Tor Joseph of
Arimathea buried the chalice used at the last supper. That when on a
nearby hill, he thrust his thorn staff into the ground it took root to produce
the distinctive Glastonbury Winter flowering thorn tree, and that, on what was
later to be the site of the great Abbey round which the town grew, he built a
church of daub and wattle. Briefly this is the legend which has drawn
pilgrims to this place for centuries. In 688, King Ine of Wessex gave it a
Monastery, majestic, rich and the most beautiful in Britain which is clear from
the ruins of the church. It is also believed that King Alfred and Queen
Guinevere were re-buried in the Abbey. In the town St Johns church is a
fine 15th Century example. The George Inn was built in the 15th Century to
lodge pilgrims and the handsome market cross is 19th Century.
Welsh Folk Museum
Wales through the centuries
at this remarkable museum, an experience around every corner. From a
Celtic village of 2,000 years ago to a miners cottage of the 1980s. A
Welsh Victorian school, farm, bakers, grocery store. original buildings brought
back to life. Formal gardens and landscaped grounds, wooded walks, pools
and ponds giving a special insight into the daily life of the people of Wales,
how they lived, worked and spent their leisure time
This tiny City (Britain’s
smallest) grew up around the religious settlement founded by St David, (patron
saint of Wales ) in the 6th Century. It is situated on St Davids
peninsula, a Celtic place of pilgrimage and peace, a granite ledge of land
jutting out into the Atlantic ocean. A truly magical place of inspiring
beauty with golden beaches, stunning coastline, nature and wildlife in
abundance. Over the centuries, an important place situated as it is en
route to Ireland. Many are said to have passed this way, King Arthur
landed on St Davids shores, Black Bart, creator of the Jolly Roger embarked on
piracy from nearby Solva Harbour and pilgrims in their thousands have trodden
the ancient roads.
St. Davids Cathedral
St Davids Cathedral
almost hidden from view in a valley at the far West of the city occupies a site
of a religious settlement founded by St David in the 6th Century.
Tradition also has it that he was born here. His mother, so the story
goes, gave birth to him on the spot on the cliffs to the South of the Cathedral
now marked by the ruins of St Nons chapel. The Cathedral with its
wonderful oak roof dates back to the 12th Century (circa 1181-82), for centuries
it was a place of pilgrimage, (two visits to St Davids being equal to one visit
to Rome). Next to the Cathedral are the remains of the ruined Bishops
Palace, how splendid this must have looked in its prime. Uniquely the
sovereign of the United Kingdom is a member of the chapter and therefore has
his/her own royal stall.
Bishops Palace St
Situated adjacent to the Cathedral at St. Davids the ruins of this magnificent
palace bear testament to the influence and wealth created by the church in
mediaeval times. Most of the construction was overseen by Bishop Henry De
Gower in the mid 14th Century. He spared no expense on creating
this lavish residence. Originally built with two sets of state rooms set
around a courtyard. He used one set for private business and the other for
the ceremonial entertaining. The palace fell into disrepair in the 16th
Century. It is said the then bishop stripped the lead from the roof to pay
for his five daughters dowries.
Built in your dreams,
Hollywood could not have built a better example of a Norman castle.
Started in 1189 the inner ward consisted of walls and a massive round keep 75ft
high and 50ft in diameter. Five floors beneath a stone dome, the walls at
the base being over 19ft thick. Thought to have been built by William
Marshal Earl of Pembroke in about 1200. The walls of the outer ward date
back to the 13th Century. A castle with a tremendous history
and a major claim to fame. The Birthplace of the Tudor dynasty. You
need no reminder of Henry VIII or Elizabeth I. The Henry VII tower is
believed to house the room where a baby was born in 1456 to a young 15yr old
girl Margaret Beaufort wife of Edmund Earl of Richmond, older brother of Jasper
Tewdwr Earl of Pembroke. This young infant became Henry Tewdwr (Tudor)
went on to become Earl of Richmond after his father died, then defeated Richard
III at Bosworth Field and by right of battle rather than right of descent became
King Henry VII of England first sovereign of the Tudor dynasty. His son
eventually became Henry VIII and his granddaughter Elizabeth I.
The capital city of
Wales boasts a castle with 1,900 years of history first built by the Romans,
some of the 10ft thick walls still remain. The Normans came and built
their castle which has been in continuous occupation ever since. Some of
the area surrounding the castle is now occupied by a superb modern shopping
centre. Hundreds of acres of parkland situated right in the city centre,
museums, the civic centre, University of Wales. St Davids Hall, a 2,000 seat
concert and conference centre. To take the city into the millennium the
new Cardiff Bay project, a redevelopment of the old Cardiff docks area.
Lacock Abbey and Village
The old English word "Lacuc" means small stream. Recorded in the mid Ninth
century as "Lacok". A small tributary to the River Avon runs close by.
A town where there is
no need to go looking for interests in dark corners, it is all around. The
city dates back to the 13th Century when it was decided to move the Bishops seat
from Old Sarum. The Cathedral foundations were begun in 1220 and the city
started to grow. Salisbury was built on a grid or chequer system which
left space between the blocks. Cathedral Close is the most beautiful in
all England and the list of buildings with interest is unending. It is
interesting to note that the main wall around the Cathedral Close was granted by
license from Edward III.
The first sight of the
Cathedral is most impressive an early example of English architecture. Its
spire soaring to a height of 404ft the highest in England which imposes almost
6,000 tons of stone on the four pillars of the crossing. The Nave measures
198ft with a clear uncluttered beauty, little having changed since it was built.
With Foundations no more than 4 feet deep on a bed of gravel, the main building was
begun in 1220 and completed in 1258. The Cloisters and Chapter house being
finished in 1280. It was never a Monastic institution but staffed with
Secular Clergy called Canons. This arrangements continues today.
Canons would be away in their parishes for most of the year, just coming back to
the Cathedral for short periods of time. The present houses round the
close are built on the sites of the former Canons' Houses.
Developed from the
Anglo Saxon words Cot and Wold, Cot meaning sheep pen. Wold meaning high windy
ground, that certainly can describe the area well, especially in the winter.
The soil is poor on the Wolds and not a lot of it but a great area for rearing
sheep. Hence the numerous villages with lovely churches (known as wool
churches) built by wealthy landowners centuries ago. The area is also
famous for the Cotswold stone a soft stone which yellows with age. Many
cottages will be seen built of Cotswold stone.
The Capital of Dobuni
when as Corinium Dobunorum in 43A.D. it became one of the chief Roman
administration centres for South West of England. In the 4th Century with
the withdrawal of the Romans the town went into decline until an Anglo Saxon
town was built. It slowly regained its importance with the development of
sheep rearing on the rich Cotswold meadow lands. The wealth from the wool
trade was tremendous, so much so that the merchants of the town were able to
build one of the greatest wool churches in the town. The 15th Century St
John the Baptist Church with its superb tower and three storied fan vaulted
porch. It has been judged one of the most beautiful perpendicular churches
Best seen in the fading
light of a warm summer evening, the houses of golden stone many with cottage
gardens facing the River Coln. William Morris described Bibury as the most
beautiful village in England. Sit on the wall by the river watch the trout
running in the crystal clear water and across on the island a protected nature
reserve with wild duck and many species of bird.
Can certainly lay claim
to being one of the most beautiful Cotswold towns. A superb High Street
slopes gently down to a three arch bridge spanning the River Windrush.
Some of the buildings such as the Bear Inn, Crown Inn and the Grammer School can
readily identify their roots in the 15th Century. A fine church
exists, St John, hidden from view down a lane at the foot of the High Street.
A wonderful mixture of accretion (add on's as and when money became available or
persons so decided) the tower is definitely Norman so is the West Doorway.
The Guild of Merchants chapel circa 1200 but remodelled in the 15th
Century. In May 1649 Cromwell imprisoned a group of mutineers in the
church for 3 nights after which they were to be shot. When three had been
executed Cromwell relented, one of the group “Sedley” scratched his name on the
font. In even earlier times the Anglo Saxons defeated the Mercians at the
battle of Edge now a playing field near the church. It is also written
that in 683 a council was convened at Burford attended by the King of Mercia at
which the date of Easter was fixed for the English church. The wealth of
the region coming from the surrounding sheep country during the middle ages.
To really appreciate Burford take time to walk the High Street.