AAM Conference 17
Useful Information St Davids Trip Southern Cathedral Festival

About Us
Places to Visit
Places to Perform
Itineraries
Testimonials
AAM Conference 17
Useful Links
Contact Us
Gallery
Groups 2011
Groups 2012
Groups 2013
Groups 2014
Groups 2015
Groups 2016
Groups 2017

 

 

ASSOCIATION of ANGLICAN
MUSICIAN'S
U.S.A.
CONFERENCE 2017

WINCHESTER, UK
Monday 10th - Monday 17th July

Link to Conference Web Site

Day 1 - Monday 10th July 2017

Arrive in Winchester and Book in to your accommodation venues from 3.00pm  (Accommodation addresses can be found under "Useful Information" on the next page)

Winchester                    The historic city of Winchester has been welcoming groups for centuries, ever since the first pilgrims visited the shrine of St Swithun.  Already an important town in Roman times, it became the capital under the Anglo Saxons, and in Alfreds time 871-901 was a great centre of learning.  William the Conqueror kept Winchester as his capital and as late as the 17th Century Charles II planned a palace here.  The city is rich in important buildings, one such building is the Great Hall, completed in 1235 it is a magnificent example of 13th Century domestic architecture.  It is now an Assize Court. Sir Walter Raleigh was condemned to death here in 1603 and on the wall hangs what is called King Arthur's Round Table, marked out and inscribed for his knights.  However one building stands out above all others, the cathedral.
Web Link

Winchester Cathedral     The building was started in 1079 and consecrated in 1093.  Work from this period can still be seen in the crypt, transepts and east part of the cloister.  Between 1189 and 1204 the lady chapel was built and the choir extended.  It is the longest Medieval Cathedral in Europe (556ft) in 1110 the central tower collapsed and was rebuilt with the supporting piers greatly strengthened (they are now 20ft in width). Among its treasures is the Great Winchester Bible dating back to the 12th Century, this illuminated copy was written in the scriptorium at Winchester and is now preserved in the Cathedral library.
Web Link

The Conference Registration desk is situated in the Royal Hotel in the Winton Room
6.00pm - 10.30pm    Registration open, light nibbles and a cash bar available

 

Day 2 - Tuesday 11th July 2017

Full Breakfast will be provided at all accommodations.

9.00am    Conference business meeting and lectures at the United Church, Jewry Street.

11.30am  Opening Eucharist at Winchester Cathedral

Afternoon Excursion to Chichester, including Introduction from Charles Harrison (Organist and Master of the Choristers) and Guided Tours of the Cathedral

Chichester                   An ancient city dating back to 43AD when the Romans landed nearby and established a base here.  Evidence of their occupation can be seen in the remains of the defensive walls, They also built a Palace at nearby Fishbourne, one of the largest Roman buildings uncovered in Britain.  When the Romans left, the Saxons established a settlement here and the area continued to be quite peaceful and prosperous.  The present City lay out follows the original Roman plan of walls and roads.  North, South, East & West Streets crossing at the 16th Century Butter Cross.  Many fine Georgian houses exist especially in a delightful street called Little London and the flat landscape makes it a fine and very easy place to explore divided up as it is into four quadrants separated by the main thoroughfares. 
The Romans called this place Noviomagnus meaning new market from the two Celtic words Novus meaning "new" and Magus meaning "plain".  When the Saxons came, Aella, first King of the Southern Saxons, gave the word Ceaster meaning "Roman town" to his eldest son, Cissa.  Hence we have “Cissa`s Ceaster”.  By 895 the settlement was recorded as “Cisseceastre”
Web Link

Chichester Cathedral    The main building began in about 1076 under the leadership of Bishop Stigand and continued under Bishop Ralph De Luffa.  A fire in 1114 hindered progress but most of what we see today existed by 1123.  The Cloisters were built in approx. 1400, followed by the seven light window in the North Transept.  The Chapter House was also completed at about this time.  The detached bell tower was built during the early part of the 15th Century and while many Cathedrals once had such a building, only the one at Chichester remains today.  It was built to take the weight of the eight massive bells from the Central Tower.  The spire and The Arundel Screen are also 15th Century.  The original Arundel Screen was removed in 1859 and this possibly precipitated the collapse of the tower in 1861.  In 1961 it was restored to its original position as we see it today.  The Prebendal School where the Choristers are educated stands alongside the Cathedral and is the oldest school in Sussex and was originally endowed by Edward Storey, Bishop in 1478.  The vicars hall bordering South Street is Circa 15th Century.  The 12th Century Undercroft is now the restaurant.  The Vicars' Close also early 15th Century.  The Deanery was built in 1725 and the gateway at the end of Canon Lane leading to the Bishops Palace is Circa 1327.  The Palace just South of the Cathedral contains a lovely 12th Century Chapel.  The gardens and serenity of this Cathedral is a joy to behold.
Web Link

Opportunity to attend Evensong at Chichester Cathedral

 

Day 3 - Wednesday 12th July 2017

Full Breakfast will be provided at all accommodations.

9.00am    Conference business meeting and lectures at the United Church, Jewry Street.

Various Guided tour of Winchester City Arranged

St Swithun Upon Kingsgate Church, Winchester    This tiny little Church unique in its position, located above the medieval Kingsgate on one of the main entrances to the City.  First mentioned in 1264 but in the context of being burnt down, so we know it must have been used earlier than this.  It is thought to have been used by pilgrims coming to the Shrine of St Swithun as they entered the City they would give thanks in the Church for safe deliverance.
Appears in the Trollope novel (Warden)
 
Web Link

St Lawrence Church, Winchester        It is of great interest not only for its unusual square design but also its fine 17th Century King post roof and its ancient site.  There was a Church on this site before the Norman Conquest in 1066 and it was incorporated into William the Conquers Palace as a Royal Chapel.
After the Palace and Chapel were destroyed by fire St Lawrence Church was rebuilt in 1150.  The church was again damaged by fire in 1978 but after restoration it was reopened in 1980. 
St Lawrence is still referred to as the Mother Church of Winchester because it is the only surviving Parish Church of Norman foundation within the City walls.  When a new Bishop of Winchester is to be enthroned in the Cathedral it is at St Lawrence Church that he is presented to the Mayor, Clergy and Citizens.
 
Web Link

St Bartholomews Church , Winchester                    One of the oldest Church sites in the area established in 1110.  The Parish Church of Hyde formerly a village outside the walls of the City of Winchester.  Part of Hyde Abbey before the disillusion in 1538. The tower was built in 1541. The chancel and the rest of the church was rebuilt in the 19th century. 
It is believed by local historians and archaeologists that the remains of Alfred the Great are buried in the area or nearby but no one has yet discovered his grave.
Web Link

Great Hall, Winchester              One of the best aisled halls of the 1200s surviving in the country.  It is all that remains of old Winchester Castle and houses a symbol of medieval mythology – King Arthurs round table.  
It was originally built for William the Conqueror in 1067 and housed important aspects of Government, such as the treasury.  The building you see today replaced the original building between 1222 & 1235.  In 1302 Edward 1st and his second wife narrowly escaped death when the Castle Royal apartments in which they were staying caught fire.
In 1646 the castle was captured by Parliamentary forces after being held by the Royalists.  When Oliver Cromwell eventually ordered the demolition of the Castle they did keep the Great Hall for use as a venue for large assemblies and the County Courts.  The Great Hall has witnessed some important historical events during its long history.   Sir Walter Raleigh stood trial here in 1603.  Then in 1685 the notorious Judge Jeffreys condemned supporters of the Duke of Monmouth to death as part of the bloody assizes.
Web Link

Opportunity to attend Evensong at Winchester Cathedral

Evening Buffet arranged, followed by at Organ Recital by Andrew Lumsden

 

Day 4 - Thursday 13th July 2017

Full Breakfast will be provided at all accommodations.

Full Day Trip to Salisbury
    Including visit to St Thomas Church, Salisbury.  Visit to RSCM at Sarum College.   Guided Tours of Salisbury Cathedral

Salisbury                       A town where there is no need to go looking for interests in dark corners, it is all around.  The city dates back to the 13th Century when it was decided to move the Bishops seat  from Old Sarum.  The Cathedral foundations were begun in 1220 and the city started to grow.  Salisbury was built on a grid or chequer system which left space between the blocks.  Cathedral Close is the most beautiful in all England and the list of buildings with interest is unending.  It is interesting to note that the main wall around the Cathedral Close was granted by license from Edward III.
Web Link

St Thomas Church, Salisbury   This large town Church was originally built as a place of worship for the stone masons working on the 13th Century Cathedral.  It was rebuilt in the 15th Century.  The tower was originally detached until the extension of the 15th Century.  The Nave and Aisles are perpendicular and the rooves are superb, especially the Nave with crested and painted beams and over 100 angels in various locations.  The South chapel was built approx 1450.  Yet a chance of history preserved above its Chancel arch the most complete doom mural in England dating back to approx 1450-75, we know the work was painted over in 1593 but discovered again and restored in 1881.  We do know from pre-restoration drawings that the composition is original.
Web Link

Salisbury Cathedral          The first sight of the Cathedral is most impressive an early example of English architecture.  Its spire soaring to a height of 404ft the highest in England which imposes almost 6,000 tons of stone on the four pillars of the crossing.  The Nave measures 198ft with a clear uncluttered beauty, little having changed since it was built.  With Foundations no more than 4 feet deep on a bed of gravel, the main building was begun in 1220 and completed in 1258.  The Cloisters and Chapter house being finished in 1280.  It was never a Monastic institution but staffed with Secular Clergy called Canons.  This arrangements continues today.  Canons would be away in their parishes for most of the year, just coming back to the Cathedral for short periods of time.  The present houses round the close are built on the sites of the former Canons' Houses.
Web Link

Opportunity to attend Evensong at Salisbury Cathedral

Evening Meal arranged at the Cathedral Refectory

 

Day 5 - Friday 14th July 2017

Full Breakfast will be provided at all accommodations.

9.00am    Conference business meeting and lectures at the United Church, Jewry Street.

Various Guided tour of Winchester Cathedral Arranged

Opportunity to listen to Rehearsals in the Cathedral before Evensong

7.30pm    Musical evening at the United Church

9.30pm    Cheese and Wine Supper, sponsored by the 'Friends of Cathedral Music'

 

Day 6 - Saturday 15th July 2017

Full Breakfast will be provided at all accommodations.

Free Day in the City

12.30pm - 3.00pm    Informal finger buffet and gathering at the Winchester Wessex Hotel

4.30pm    St Swithuns Festival Evensong in the Cathedral

St Swithun             St Swithun thought to have been born about circa 800 and died in 862. He was an Anglo Saxon Bishop of Winchester and subsequently the patron Saint of Winchester.  His historical importance is over shadowed by his reputation for posthumous miracle working.
By tradition if it rains on his feast day, July 15th then rain will continue for 40 days.  If it is fine then dry weather can be expected.  On his deathbed, Swithun begged that he should be buried outside the North wall of his Cathedral where passers-by could walk over his grave and raindrops from the eaves drop on it.  Legend has it that on the 15th day of July 971 when his body was removed to a new Shrine in the Cathedral, his spirit was so incensed that his remains were being transferred indoors that he caused it to rain all day and for a further 40 days.  Hence the proverb.
Web Link

 

Day 7 - Sunday 16th July 2017

Full Breakfast will be provided at all accommodations.

Morning Holy Eucharist Service at Romsey Abbey

Romsey Abbey                   The Abbey dates back to the start of the 10th century.  Anglo-Saxon foundations have in fact been discovered. (a trapdoor exists to access the remains from the church).  The main building however does date back to the 12th Century built by Henry de Blois, Bishop of Winchester.  The church was actually sold to the town for £100 during the dissolution.  With the exception of the West front the Abbey is entirely 12th Century.  The Norman nave is over 250ft long and soars to a height of over 70ft.  Some very interesting items are to be seen within the walls, especially at the rear of the altar in the South choir aisle, where you can see a small Anglo-Saxon rood showing Christ with angels and soldiers.  Also on the West wall of the South transept hangs a crucifixion with the hand of god reaching down, it is verified that this also dates back to Anglo-Saxon times.  A delightful Abbey which cannot fail to inspire and enthuse one.
Web Link

Buffet Lunch provided

Close of Conference service at the 'Hospital of St Cross Church'

Hospital of St Cross, Winchester        St Cross is almost a Norman Cathedral in miniature but also doubles as the local parish church of St Faith.  The structure is almost entirely of the late Norman period.  The Nave is dominated by massive Norman piers.  A closer look will see the Norman architecture giving way to Gothic walls and windows. The church was extensively restored by Butterfield in the 19th Century.  But it is outside that one finds a perfect gem, England’s oldest and most perfect Almshouses.  Begun in 1136 to house 13 poor men and feed a 100 local people each day.  The founder was Henry De Blois the half brother of King Stephen.  It was the Almshouses that saved the Church after the Dissolution in 1536.  The Almshouses are still in use today serving 12 or so Brothers and are situated round two Tudor quadrangles.  The quaint intentions of the founder is still honoured today.  Every traveller knocking at the door receives a morsel of bread and a horn of beer (known as the Wayfarers Dole)
Web Link

6.30pm    Final Evening Banquet Arranged at the Guildhall Winchester

 

Day 8 - Monday 17th July 2017

Full Breakfast will be provided at all accommodations.

Departure day for main Convention Delegates.

Start of the Side Trip to St Davids (more information on subsequent page)