The Anglican Singers, New London, CT
Founded by the Romans
in 50A.D. who surrounded the town with a great red stone wall, some parts which
can still be seen today. Under the Anglo Saxons it became a very important
place and was twice ravaged by the Danes once in 876 when they occupied the town
for three years and again in 1003. Following on after the Norman invasion the
town held out till 1068 before finally accepting defeat after an 18 day siege by
William the Conqueror. The town was an important cloth manufacturing area
and because of its strategic position close to the coast trading centre right up
to the late 18th Century. Two attractive areas in the city are
the Cathedral Close and the area of the quay. Some Medieval pubs still
remain, The Ship, White Hart, Turks Head together with some fine timbered
buildings. Much however was lost in the German bombing of 1942 which
flattened a great deal of the city.
recorded that a church with a religious community probably existed here from as
early as the 7th Century and St Boniface an apostle from Germany was
educated here. It became the seat of the Bishop in 1050 when Leofric made
the Minster his Cathedral. Leofric founded a community of 24 Canons whose
successors have run the Cathedral ever since. The original Cathedral was
built in the Norman style and consecrated on the 21st November 1133.
It is believed the Cathedral had boy singers by 1180 and the office of Dean
founded in 1225. During the period 1258-80 a new rebuilding scheme was
started which built on the existing Norman foundations and by the 14th
Century only the Norman
towers remained of the original building. Little disturbance was made
until the exterior was extensively restored in the 19th Century and
changes made inside during the period 1870-1877. The building did
take a direct hit during the bombing of 1942 and much damage was done. The
Quire screen is original dating back to 1320 and the Quire has furnishings
(Bishops throne nearly 60ft high dating back to the period of Bishop Stapledon
(1308-1326) Music plays a very important part in Cathedral life and the
Choristers are educated in the school which dates back to the Cathedrals very
Capital city of Cornwall,
the commercial hub of the area. During the Middle ages it was an important
port for the export of iron ore, it is now a market town and an administrative
centre for the county. Stood for the King during the Civil War but really
history has passed it by.
Truro Cathedral Although
by our standards a modern Cathedral dedicated in 1910. No one can fail to
be impressed when approaching the city, a soaring spire 250ft catching the eye
and dominating the centre of the city. It was the first Anglican Cathedral
to be built on a new site in this country since Salisbury in the 13th
Century. The County of Cornwall had been an Archdeaconry of Exeter until
the decision taken on the 15th December 1876 which declared the
See founded at Truro. The first bishop was Edward Benson Enthoned in
1877. Not in a Cathedral but in the small parish church of St Mary the
Virgin. The foundation stone of the new Cathedral was laid on the 20th
May 1880 by the then Prince of Wales later to become King Edward VII. The
building was completed and dedicated in 1910.
Beautifully situated on the
Cornish South coast, at the Eastern side of the entrance to the Carrick Roads.
The name of the town derives from that of its patron, Saint Mawdeth, a rather
obscure Celtic Monk. The church is mentioned in a document of 1345 as
being dedicated to Sanctus Maudetus. There are several thatched houses on
the waterfront overlooking the bay, behind the quay the narrow streets rise
steeply, with fine views over the river.
The spectacular hillside
garden is beautiful throughout the year with spring flowering bulbs and shrubs,
colourful herbaceous borders and fine trees. The garden is surrounded by
parkland and woods which offer lovely walks. The house is furnished as a
comfortable family home and includes a music room. Upstairs the Pauline de
Bush collection of costumes from the 18th Century to the present day is
displayed in a series of period rooms.
of the most celebrated names in British maritime history, there are now over 40
communities spread round the English speaking world with the name Plymouth.
Its potential as a major deep sea port was not really recognised until the turn
of the 13th Century. It became the base of the English Navy
during the Elizabethan era. The time of Drake, Raleigh, Hawkins & Gilbert
when it was used extensively to guard the Western approaches from the Spanish
fleets. It was from here on the Hoe on Friday July 19th 1588 that Drake, while playing bowls, was told of the
approach of the Spanish Armada. Ignoring advice he continued with his game
until completed. Then he boarded his vessel the Golden Hind and set off
after the Spanish.
National Maritime Aquarium
largest aquarium in Britain giving the experience of a fascinating underwater
world. A collection of marine life from across the world from the shores of
Plymouth to the coral reefs of Australia. Over 70 sharks from more than 10
different species ranging in size from the small dog fish to the large sand
tiger shark. A superb venue situated in a marine City rich in maritime
heritage the NMA is at the forefront of marine science and conservation.
You can actually get
further from habitation here than anywhere else in Southern England. Set
on a plateau mainly over 1,000ft high, extending some 23 miles from North to
South and 13 miles from East to West mainly treeless and uncultivated, a granite
base overlaid with peat. In the 12th Century it was found to be the
richest source of tin in Europe. Freelance miners rushed in from all
directions, exhaustion of the surface tin together with the black death in 1349
which hit the moorland settlements very hard, ended the boom. The moor is
now a protected area and national park.
The original Abbey was founded nearly
a thousand years ago and stood for five hundred years before it was closed by
Henry VIII. The present community of Benedictine monks returned in 1882 and
built the present Abbey on its Medieval foundations, the church was completed in
The Manor of Powderham was mentioned in the Doomsday book. It came into the
Courtenay family by way of the dowry of Margaret de Bohun on her marriage to
Hugh de Courtenay son of the first Courtenay Earl of Devon. Margaret bore her
Lord nine daughters & eight sons and from this marriage descends all the
subsequent Courtenays Earls of Devon. She left the Castle to her Sixth son
Philip and it was he who began building the castle as we see it today in 1319.