Christ Church Cathedral, Lexington, KY
There is nothing quite
like this awe inspiring monument anywhere else in the world, yet at first sight
it is curiously disappointing, probably because it is set on a plain so vast
that in comparison the stones seem quite insignificant. It is only when
man stands close to the stones that he seems so puny in comparison and it is
hard to imagine how centuries ago, with only primitive tools to help them, men
could possibly have placed these huge boulders into position.
Founded by the Romans
in 50A.D. who surrounded the town with a great red stone wall, some parts which
can still be seen today. Under the Anglo Saxons it became a very important
place and was twice ravaged by the Danes once in 876 when they occupied the town
for three years and again in 1003. Following on after the Norman invasion the
town held out till 1068 before finally accepting defeat after an 18 day siege by
William the Conqueror. The town was an important cloth manufacturing area
and because of its strategic position close to the coast trading centre right up
to the late 18th Century. Two attractive areas in the city are
the Cathedral Close and the area of the quay. Some Medieval pubs still
remain, The Ship, White Hart, Turks Head together with some fine timbered
buildings. Much however was lost in the German bombing of 1942 which
flattened a great deal of the city.
recorded that a church with a religious community probably existed here from as
early as the 7th Century and St Boniface an apostle from Germany was
educated here. It became the seat of the Bishop in 1050 when Leofric made
the Minster his Cathedral. Leofric founded a community of 24 Canons whose
successors have run the Cathedral ever since. The original Cathedral was
built in the Norman style and consecrated on the 21st November 1133.
It is believed the Cathedral had boy singers by 1180 and the office of Dean
founded in 1225. During the period 1258-80 a new rebuilding scheme was
started which built on the existing Norman foundations and by the 14th
Century only the Norman
towers remained of the original building. Little disturbance was made
until the exterior was extensively restored in the 19th Century and
changes made inside during the period 1870-1877. The building did
take a direct hit during the bombing of 1942 and much damage was done. The
Quire screen is original dating back to 1320 and the Quire has furnishings
(Bishops throne nearly 60ft high dating back to the period of Bishop Stapledon
(1308-1326) Music plays a very important part in Cathedral life and the
Choristers are educated in the school which dates back to the Cathedrals very
The Manor of Powderham was mentioned in the Doomsday book. It came into the
Courtenay family by way of the dowry of Margaret de Bohun on her marriage to
Hugh de Courtenay son of the first Courtenay Earl of Devon. Margaret bore her
Lord nine daughters & eight sons and from this marriage descends all the
subsequent Courtenays Earls of Devon. She left the Castle to her Sixth son
Philip and it was he who began building the castle as we see it today in 1319.
National Maritime Aquarium
largest aquarium in Britain giving the experience of a fascinating underwater
world. A collection of marine life from across the world from the shores of
Plymouth to the coral reefs of Australia. Over 70 sharks from more than 10
different species ranging in size from the small dog fish to the large sand
tiger shark. A superb venue situated in a marine City rich in maritime
heritage the NMA is at the forefront of marine science and conservation.
of the most celebrated names in British maritime history, there are now over 40
communities spread round the English speaking world with the name Plymouth.
Its potential as a major deep sea port was not really recognised until the turn
of the 13th Century. It became the base of the English Navy
during the Elizabethan era. The time of Drake, Raleigh, Hawkins & Gilbert
when it was used extensively to guard the Western approaches from the Spanish
fleets. It was from here on the Hoe on Friday July 19th 1588 that Drake, while playing bowls, was told of the
approach of the Spanish Armada. Ignoring advice he continued with his game
until completed. Then he boarded his vessel the Golden Hind and set off
after the Spanish.
House of Marbles
Tour the historic sites trail with
museums of glass, games, marbles and bovey pottery. The company have been
manufacturing a range of traditional games, puzzles, toys, marbles and glassware
for many years. Also with a fine collection of vintage and antique wares.
A picturesque fishing port lies in the
sweep of Tor Bay. In 1850 Brixham was the home to nearly 300 trawlers. Not so
many now. It was here in 1688 that William of Orange first set foot on English
soil before becoming King.